Skip to content

POSSE Basics

July 24, 2011

I’m in Raleigh for the weekend just finishing up the POSSE Basics workshop. The program was hosted by Red Hat and is being run by Mel Chua, Sebastian Dziallas, Jared Smith and Greg DeKoenigsberg. We’ve also had help from Opensource.com folks who conducted verbal and video interviews of the profs. A huge Thank You to Greg for chauffeuring us around in his Mini Cooper which has a surprisingly comfortable back seat.

We had a POSSE. Thanks everybody.

Even though I’ve been involving students in FOSS projects for about five years, the POSSE Basics has made me realize again why I love working with students and FOSS. I’m impressed by how much fun there is in the FOSS world. I’m impressed by the breadth of opportunity for student learning in FOSS projects. And I’m impressed by the breadth of opportunity for me to learn! The FOSS world provides many and varied learning opportunities. So many in fact, that it is difficult to choose what to learn and in what environment.

And as is usual, talking with other FOSS folks and academics about involving students in FOSS projects has raised more questions. How can I create a sustainable series of activities over time and across different courses? What do students do in FOSS after they graduate? What sort of feedback on student experience is of use to the FOSS community? What are the best mechanisms for getting the news out there? I think that what we’re doing is really exciting and I clearly need to do a better job of marketing the WNE student accomplishments!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

