Skip to content

Women in Computing

October 3, 2010

I have just gotten back from attending the Grace Hopper Women in Computing Conference. Wow, what a blast! This was my first attendance and I have to say that it’s the first time that I’ve belonged to a majority at a computing event. I loved the energy and the supportive atmosphere and especially meeting new collaborators in open source! I’m definitely bringing my daughter next time.

I was on a panel with Avni Khatri, Senior Front-end Engineer, Yahoo! Inc.; Alice Bonhomme-Biais, Senior Software Engineer, Google; Jamie Lockwood, Academic Relations Manager, Yahoo! Labs; and Louiqa Raschid, Professor at University of Maryland. Thanks ladies! Our panel focused on humanitarian free and open source software and how academia and industry have collaborated to help build OSS projects.  We seemed to get lots of interest. I always find that questions about open source and involving students always makes me think more deeply about what I’m doing. Is there a better way to get students involved? What new ideas are there that I can take advantage of?

And to top it off, I got to have lunch on Friday with some of my TOS (TeachingOpenSource) buddies! Lunchers included Leslie Hawthorn, Deb Nicholson, Bill Madden, Anita Verno, and Greg Hislop. We heard about the cool app that Bill and Anita’s students had built for emergency services and about their plans for the fall. We also talked about the ups and downs of involving students in FOSS projects and exchanged stories about what worked and what didn’t. Thanks to Mel Chua and RedHat for supporting our interaction.

TOS lunch at Grace Hopper 2010

TOS lunchers at Grace Hopper Women in Computing Conference 2010

Leave a Reply

